Toulouse Baroque Ensemble in trio

 

Concert by the Toulouse Baroque Ensemble in trio on 10 September 2022

in the church of Saint Martin de Limeuil at 8.30 pm.

Toulouse Baroque Ensemble

 

L' The Toulouse Baroque Ensemble

Founded in 1998, the ensemble's main focus is on baroque and classical oratorio. Its interpretation of J.S. Bach's oratorios has earned the Ensemble reviews pointing to "(?) an unforgettable journey (?) the audience gave all the artists a standing ovation." (Classiquenews, 2017), "The Toulouse Baroque Ensemble has earned its stripes of excellence" (Resmusica, 2017), or "It must be said that on such an echo, the Toulouse Baroque Ensemble does not suffer from the comparison with the Musiciens du Louvre" (Bachtrack, 2017).

In 2016, the Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse released its first recording, the opera Le Triomphe des Arts by Bernard-Aymable Dupuy. Composed in 1733, this long-forgotten masterpiece is the only baroque opera from Toulouse, and one of only two composed far from the royal court. The recording, made during the only re-creation concert, was hailed by the critics, who wrote: "A magnificent result" (Classiquenews). Michel Brun shows himself to be a very convincing conductor, who knows how to give the dances of this opera-ballet the appropriate relief. The orchestra is also equal to the task" (Forumopera), and finally "A salutary approach to the rediscovery of a forgotten score (?) It is a model". (OdB Opera). The EBT?s second disc, Vivaldi, entre Ombre et Lumière, will also be enthusiastically received when it is released at the end of 2021.

Under the direction of its founder and conductor Michel Brun, the Ensemble divides its activity between repertoire and creation, giving rise to original performances that have been acclaimed by audiences throughout Europe, such as Caravane Baroque, which draws on the profoundly popular character of baroque music, or Caprices de Saisons, which combines compositions and repertoire music in a grand fresco set against a backdrop of environmental concerns.

 

Benoit Carillon

Traverso : Michel Brun

Cello : Marie-Madeleine Mille

Theorbo: Benoît Carrillon

 

THE PROGRAMME

A new programme is offered, devoted to the French and German repertoires of the Baroque period, with Italian influences:

 

 

 

The church of Saint Martin de Limeuil

This is the first time that Musique en Périgord has taken over this Romanesque chapel, one of the most beautiful in the Périgord, with its excellent acoustics. It was built in 1170 at the request of Henry II of England in expiation for the murder of Thomas Beckett.

At the confluence of the Dordogne and Vézère rivers, the charming medieval village of Limeuil, with its stone houses and brown tiled roofs typical of the Périgord Noir, stretches from the panoramic gardens to the port, where commercial activity was once intense. Limeuil has known the torments of the Viking invasions and the Hundred Years War, three fortified gates still testify. 

 

Saint Martin's Church

Music together

Support us

The Festival

+33 553 303 609

24260 Audrix, France

 

 

Ask for the programme!

From 20 to 29 July 2022, between Le Bugue, Les Eyzies and Saint Cyprien, the Festival covers from Bach to Piazzolla!

fr_FR

Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse en trio

 

Concert de l’Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse en trio le 10 septembre 2022

en l’église Saint Martin de Limeuil à 20h30.

Ensemble baroque de Toulouse

 

L’ Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse

Créé en 1998, il s’illustre d’abord dans l’oratorio baroque et classique. Son interprétation des oratorios de J.-S. Bach a valu à l’Ensemble des critiques signalant     « (…) un voyage inoubliable (…) le public a ovationné tous les artistes debout. » (Classiquenews, 2017), « L’Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse a bien gagné ses galons d’excellence » (Resmusica, 2017), ou encore « Il faut bien dire que sur un tel écho, l’Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse ne souffre pas de la comparaison avec les Musiciens du Louvre » (Bachtrack, 2017).

En 2016, l’Ensemble Baroque de Toulouse sort son premier enregistrement, l’opéra Le Triomphe des Arts de Bernard-Aymable Dupuy. Composé en 1733, ce chef-d’œuvre longtemps oublié est l’unique opéra baroque toulousain, l’un des deux seuls composés loin de la cour royale. L’enregistrement, réalisé lors de l’unique concert de recréation, est salué par la critique, dans laquelle on peut lire « Un résultat magnifique » (Classiquenews), Michel Brun se montre un chef tout à fait convaincant, qui sait prêter aux danses de cet opéra-ballet le relief qui sied. L’orchestre est lui aussi à la hauteur de l’entreprise » (Forumopera), et enfin « Démarche salutaire de redécouverte d’une partition oubliée (…) C’est un modèle. » (OdB Opéra). Le second disque de l’EBT, Vivaldi, entre Ombre et Lumière, reçoit à son tour un accueil enthousiaste lors de sa sortie fin 2021.

Sous la direction de son chef et fondateur Michel Brun, l’Ensemble partage son activité entre répertoire et création, donnant notamment naissance à des spectacles originaux salués par le public à travers l’Europe, à l’image de Caravane Baroque, nourrie du caractère profondément populaire des musiques baroques, ou Caprices de Saisons, qui mêle compositions et musiques de répertoire dans une grande fresque sur fond d’inquiétude environnementale.

 

Benoit Carillon

Traverso : Michel Brun

Violoncelle : Marie-Madeleine Mille

Théorbe : Benoît Carrillon

 

LE PROGRAMME

C’est un nouveau programme qui vous est proposé, consacré aux répertoires français et allemand de la période baroque, teintés d’influences italiennes :

 

 

 

L’église Saint Martin de Limeuil

C’est la première fois que Musique en Périgord investit cette chapelle romane, l’une des plus belles du Périgord, à l’excellente acoustique, qui fut construite à partir de 1170 sur la demande d’Henri II d’Angleterre en expiation du meurtre de Thomas Beckett.

Au confluent de la Dordogne et de la Vézère, le ravissant village médiéval de Limeuil, aux maisons de pierre et toits de tuiles brunes typiques du Périgord Noir, s’étage des jardins panoramiques jusqu’au port, à l’activité commerciale autrefois intense. Limeuil connut les affres des invasions Vikings et de la Guerre de Cent ans, trois portes fortifiées  témoignent encore. 

 

Eglise Saint Martin

Musique ensemble

Soutenez nous

Le Festival

+33 553 303 609

24260 Audrix, France

 

 

Demandez le programme !

Du 20 au 29 juillet 2022, entre le Bugue, Les Eyzies et Saint Cyprien, le Festival qui va de Bach à Piazzolla !

en_GB