Jacques Moderne Ensemble

Conductor: Joël Suhubiette

 

 

HEAR THE VOICE

Tears of London

17 December 2022 at 5pm in Le Bugue, in the church of Saint-Sulpice.

 

Jacques Moderne Ensemble
Joël SUHUBIETTE ©Romain Serrano

 

This programme consists of beautiful pieces from the collection The Teares or Lamentations of a sorrowfull soule (The Tears or Lamentations of a Sorrowful Soul, 1614) by Sir William Leighton (1565-1622). Born into a family of lower Shropshire gentry, Leighton was to achieve high office: MP for Much Wenlock in 1601, a gentleman of the Royal Guard in 1602 and a knight in 1603. However, from 1604 onwards, a series of debts and disastrous financial dealings led him to 'experience the long and painful trials of imprisonment, setbacks, torments, illness and afflictions'.

It was while in the Marshalsea Prison (in London) that Leighton wrote this collection of repentance poems. In it he informed readers of his intention 'God willing, to publish soon some sweet musical tunes and melodious accents'. True to his word, a collection of the same name was published in 1614, in which 'some of the most excellent musicians of the time (William Byrd (1538-1623), John Dowland (1563-1626)?) have, out of affection for me, composed most exquisite and melodious music, the better to embellish my poor efforts'. 

Alternating with the brilliance of the great choral polyphonies, we discover the intimacy of these spiritual madrigals composed by Byrd, Gibbons, Wilbye & Dowland on texts by William Leighton.

This programme has received the support of SPEDIDAM and ADAMI

 

 

From the repertoire a cappella from Renaissance music to opera and contemporary works, Joël Suhubiette devotes most of his time to directing his ensembles: the Toulouse Chamber Choir The ElementsHe has been performing contemporary creation, a cappella and oratorio repertoire, as well as music for a number of years.Jacques Moderne Ensemble He has been the artistic director of the Orchestre de Tours since 1993, with whom he devotes himself to the early repertoire of the late Renaissance and early Baroque periods. After studying music at the Toulouse Conservatory, Joël Suhubiette developed a passion for the choral repertoire; he began as a singer with Les Arts Florissants with William Christie, he then sang with Philippe Herreweghe at the Chapelle Royale and the Collegium Vocale Ghent (Belgium), before becoming his assistant for eight years. This decisive encounter enabled him to tackle a vast repertoire of four centuries of vocal music. Today he performs operas, oratorios and cantatas with several French orchestras and instrumental ensembles ? Les Passions-Orchestre Baroque de Montauban, The Folies Françoises, Café Zimmermannthe Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, the Orchestre de Chambre de Toulouse, Les Percussions de Strasbourg, the Ars Nova Ensemble, the Orchestre de Pau-Pays de Béarn, the orchestras of Saint-Céré festivalHe is also a member of the board of directors of the Dijon and Massy opera houses. At the head of his vocal ensembles, he has recorded for Virgin Classics, Hortus, Calliope, Ligia Digital, Naïve, Mirare and Empreinte digitale. Since 2006, he has been the artistic director of the Musiques des Lumières festival at the Abbey School of Sorèze in the Tarn.

Joël Suhubiette was appointed Officier des Arts et des Lettres by the Ministry of Culture.

 

 

EJM - Hear the voice

THE PROGRAMME

 

ANTHEMS

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Remember not, O Lord God

Hear the voice and prayer

Out from the deep

The teares or lamentacions of a sorrowfull soule (1614)

Texts by William Leighton (1565-1622)

William Byrd (1538-1623)

Look down, O Lord

Be unto me

Come help, O God

I Laid me down

MOTETS

William Byrd (1538-1623)

Emmendemus in melius

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Loquebantur variis linguis

ENTRACTE

The teares or lamentacions of a sorrowfull soule (1614)

Texts by William Leighton (1565-1622)

Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625)

O Lord, how do my woes increase

John Wilbye (1574-1638)

O God, the rock of my whole strength

John Dowland (1563-1626)

I shame at mine unworthiness

LAMENTATIONS

Robert White (1538-1574)

Lamentations

ANTHEMS

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

O Lord, give thy Holy Spirit

O Lord, in Thee is all my trust

 

 

 

 

Your tickets online

Music in Shakespeare's time 17 December 2022 at 5pm

Le Bugue
Saint-Sulpice Church

Music together

Support us

The Festival

+33 553 303 609

24260 Audrix, France

 

 

Ask for the programme!

From 20 to 29 July 2022, then from September to December between Le Bugue, Les Eyzies and Saint Cyprien, the Festival that goes from Renaissance music to Piazzolla!

fr_FR

Ensemble Jacques Moderne

Direction : Joël Suhubiette

 

 

HEAR THE VOICE

Tears of London

Le 17 décembre 2022 à 17h au Bugue, en l’église Saint-Sulpice.

 

Ensemble Jacques Moderne
Joël SUHUBIETTE ©Romain Serrano

 

Ce programme se compose de très belles pièces tirées du recueil The Teares or Lamentations of a sorrowfull soule (Les Larmes ou lamentations d’une âme douloureuse, 1614) de Sir William Leighton (1565-1622). Issu d’une famille de la petite noblesse du Shropshire, Leighton devait atteindre de hauts postes : député de Much Wenlock en 1601, gentilhomme de la Garde Royale en 1602 et chevalier en 1603. Cependant, à partir de 1604, une série de dettes et d’opérations financières désastreuses le conduisit à « vivre les épreuves longues et pénibles de l’emprisonnement, des revers, des tourments, de la maladie et des afflictions ».

C’est pendant son séjour à la prison de la Maréchaussée (à Londres) que Leighton écrivit ce recueil de poèmes de repentance. Il y informait des lecteurs de son intention « si Dieu le veut, de publier rapidement quelques doux airs musicaux et accents mélodieux ». Fidèle à sa parole, un recueil du même nom fut publié en 1614, dans lequel « parmi les plus excellents musiciens de ce temps (William Byrd (1538-1623), John Dowland (1563-1626)…) ont, par affection pour moi, composé une musique des plus exquises et des plus mélodieuses, pour mieux embellir mes piètres efforts ». 

En alternance avec l’éclat des grandes polyphonies chorales, on découvre l’intimité de ces madrigaux spirituels composés par Byrd, Gibbons, Wilbye & Dowland sur les textes de William Leighton.

Ce programme a reçu le soutien de la SPEDIDAM et de l’ADAMI

 

 

Du répertoire a cappella à l’oratorio, de la musique de la Renaissance à la création contemporaine en passant par l’opéra, Joël Suhubiette consacre l’essentiel de son activité à la direction de ses ensembles : le chœur de chambre toulousain Les Eléments, qu’il a fondé en 1997 et avec lequel il interprète la création contemporaine, le répertoire a cappella et l’oratorio, et l’Ensemble Jacques Moderne de Tours, dont il est le directeur artistique depuis 1993, avec lequel il se consacre au répertoire ancien de la fin de la Renaissance et du début de l’époque baroque. Après des études musicales au Conservatoire de Toulouse, Joël Suhubiette se passionne pour le répertoire choral ; débutant comme chanteur avec Les Arts Florissants de William Christie, il chante ensuite avec Philippe Herreweghe à la Chapelle Royale et au Collegium Vocale de Gand (Belgique), avant de devenir son assistant pendant huit années. Cette rencontre déterminante lui permet d’aborder un vaste répertoire de quatre siècles de musique vocale. Il interprète aujourd’hui opéras, oratorios et cantates avec plusieurs orchestres et ensembles instrumentaux français – Les Passions-Orchestre Baroque de Montauban, Les Folies Françoises, Café Zimmermann, l’Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, l’Orchestre de Chambre de Toulouse, Les Percussions de Strasbourg, l’Ensemble Ars Nova, l’Orchestre de Pau-Pays de Béarn, les orchestres du festival de Saint-Céré, des opéras de Dijon et de Massy. À la tête de ses ensembles vocaux, il enregistre pour les maisons de disques Virgin Classics, Hortus, Calliope, Ligia Digital, Naïve, Mirare et l’Empreinte digitale. Depuis 2006, il est directeur artistique du festival Musiques des Lumières de l’Abbaye-école de Sorèze dans le Tarn.

Joël Suhubiette a été nommé Officier des Arts et des Lettres par le Ministère de la Culture.

 

 

EJM - Hear the voice

LE PROGRAMME

 

ANTHEMS

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Remember not, O Lord God

Hear the voice and prayer

Out from the deep

The teares or lamentacions of a sorrowfull soule (1614)

Textes de William Leighton (1565-1622)

William Byrd (1538-1623)

Look down, O Lord

Be unto me

Come help, O God

I Laid me down

MOTETS

William Byrd (1538-1623)

Emmendemus in melius

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Loquebantur variis linguis

ENTRACTE

The teares or lamentacions of a sorrowfull soule (1614)

Textes de William Leighton (1565-1622)

Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625)

O Lord, how do my woes increase

John Wilbye (1574-1638)

O God, the rock of my whole strength

John Dowland (1563-1626)

I shame at mine unworthiness

LAMENTATIONS

Robert White (1538-1574)

Lamentations

ANTHEMS

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

O Lord, give thy Holy Spirit

O Lord, in Thee is all my trust

 

 

 

 

Vos billets en ligne

La musique au temps de Shakespeare 17 décembre 2022 à 17h

Le Bugue
Eglise Saint-Sulpice

Musique ensemble

Soutenez nous

Le Festival

+33 553 303 609

24260 Audrix, France

 

 

Demandez le programme !

Du 20 au 29 juillet 2022, puis de septembre à décembre entre le Bugue, Les Eyzies et Saint Cyprien, le Festival qui va de la musique de la Renaissance à Piazzolla !

en_GB