Eve and Matthieu Ricard with the duo Devin

 

Poems by Eve Ricard, projection of photos by Matthieu Ricard on 25 September 2022

at the Pôle d'Interprétation de la Préhistoire des Eyzies at 5pm.

Eve and Matthieu Ricard

 

Matthieu Ricard

Who would have thought that poetry, music and photography, arts in their own right, could so easily blend together to create a moment filled with new sensations? Obviously, the alchemy of a sister and her brother helped bring these four artists together. The poetry of the words mingling with that of the notes melted in that of the colours and the images, for deep moments of escape.

There are totally unexpected encounters, on a station platform or at a birthday party, between people from different backgrounds who may end up with a common spirit...

 A moment in a special and magical atmosphere.

Shards of life in 60 poemspreface by Christian Bobin

Editions Jouvence 2021 12, 90

Ève Ricard lives as she writes, carrying the desire of what is to come, to live. So she tells us "it is never too late", the best is yet to come. She writes for us, to be with us. With words that are both simple and crystal-clear, she seeks to touch the exactness of beauty. Through her poems, Ève Ricard opens beings to the diamond reflections of the moment, where the blessed go. "What is precious about your text is its simplicity. It is the great naturalness of those who have not made poetry a profession, nor even an art or a habit: a breath, rather, a breath in the suspended night. Christian Bobin

Ève Ricard, a speech therapist by profession, is a French writer. The daughter of author Jean-François Revel and painter Yahne Le Toumelin, and the younger sister of writer and Buddhist monk Matthieu Ricard, she has suffered from Parkinson?s disease for many years and has drawn inspiration from it for her books. She is the author of Parkinson blues, The Lady of Words and A Star Dancing on Chaos.

 

 

"Matthew's spiritual life and his camera are one and the same, and this is where these fleeting and eternal images come from.

? Henri Cartier-Bresson.

I started taking pictures when I was about twelve years old. I photographed puddles and reflections of light. People used to say, "Don't count on Matthew for family photos. I was not a city boy and always felt better in nature. I started to photograph more seriously at the age of fifteen, guided by my friend André Fatras, one of the pioneers of wildlife photography in France.

After settling in the Himalayas, I photographed my spiritual masters and their world. My aim was to share the splendour, strength and depth that I witnessed. I use photography as a source of hope, with the intention of restoring confidence in human nature and rekindling wonder at the wildness of the world.

My first photo book Journey to Enligthenment, The Life and World of Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche, was published in the United States (Aperture, 1996) and then in France under the title L'Esprit du Tibet. I also published Dancing Monks of Tibet.

In 2000, while I was exhibiting at "Visa pour l?Image" in Perpignan, I met Hervé de La Martinière. From this meeting was born a solid friendship and a fruitful collaboration which saw the publication of a dozen albums of photographs: Himalaya bouddhiste (with Olivier and Danielle Föllmi), Tibet, regards de compassion; Un voyage immobile; Bhoutan; 108 Sourires; Visages de paix, terres de sérénité; Hymne à la beauté; Un demi-siècle dans l'Himalaya; Contemplations and Émerveillement.

The power of a vision, of an image, is obvious as soon as it appears. I scrutinize it carefully to determine the best way to render it justice, the technique helping to find the subjective impression I felt when contemplating a scene. I like rich colours as much as I like "colour without colour": a white bird flying past a waterfall in falling snow. Danielle Föllmi once told me that I "paint with light", a nice compliment.

When I was making the images for Un voyage immobile, the Himalayas seen from a hermitage, I sat in the same place for a year, as if waiting for the light. But I wasn't waiting for anything, and I didn't plan to write a book: I was simply staying in my hermitage to make a retreat. From dawn to dusk, I contemplated a sublime landscape: the Himalayan range unfolded majestically before my eyes. Sometimes, an impromptu light would light up the scene for a few moments and I would take some pictures. The "magic moments" that make up this collection, all captured from the terrace of my hermitage or a few hundred metres away, are the fruit of this "waiting without waiting", of the harmony of nature mingling with the bliss of meditation.

Sometimes I don't take any pictures for months. Then the day comes when the people, the place and the light appear in such a beautiful way that I cannot resist making an image, an offering to all those who will lay their eyes on it. Cartier-Bresson said, "Photos take me, not the other way around. The ideal is to live in the place where you are photographing, so that time works in your favour: that an exceptional scene is offered to your eyes and you are present.

I have often contemplated and admired the work of the great photographers of the past, Ansel Adams, Ernst Haas (his masterpiece The Creation, in particular, which I revisit regularly), Galen Rowell and many others. I have made friends with a number of photographers whom I admire ? Henri-Cartier Bresson whom I knew as a teenager and became close to, Jim Brandenburg, Vincent Munier and Yann Arthus Bertrand, to name but a few. I continue to learn from them. Sometimes I look at a particularly striking or inspiring image and spend a long time absorbing its beauty, its composition, or the message it conveys, an image that will remain in my memory and enrich my way of seeing. A successful photograph is one that you never tire of looking at and that gives you a feeling of elevation.

Over the years, it is the gaze that is educated, refined and that allows us to better see what is there, to honour what the world and beings give us, then to make the colours vibrate and the light sing to rediscover the feeling of seizure, of breaking away from mental cogitations and of delight that was ours when contemplating a scene, a face, the immensity of a sky, the evanescence of a reflection, the maze of a bark or the intimacy of a flower.The artist's work is based on the feeling of being struck by a scene, a face, the immensity of a sky, the evanescence of a reflection, the labyrinth of a bark or the intimacy of a flower.

 

 

Matthieu Ricard, born in France in 1946 and son of French philosopher Jean-François Revel and painter Yahne Le Toumelin, is a Buddhist monk, humanitarian, author of books, translator and photographer. After a first trip to India in 1967 where he met great Tibetan spiritual masters, including his main masters, Kangyur Rinpoche and Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche, he completed his doctorate in cellular genetics in 1972, and left to settle permanently in the Himalayan region where he has now lived for over 50 years.

A Buddhist monk, Matthieu Ricard shares all forms of beauty through his art, whether they are spiritual, human, altruistic, or emanate from the wild side of the world.

 

Ayano and Guillaume Devin

Violin: Guillaume Devin

Piano: Ayano Devin

 

THE PROGRAMME of the duo Devin

 

- Bach: Largo from the 3rd Sonata for solo violin

- Elgar: Love salute

- Vivaldi: Winter (1st movement)

- Debussy : Clair de Lune

- Poldini: The Dancing Doll (NON DP)

- Ravel: Pavane for a Dead Princess

- Kreisler: Chinese Tambourine (NON DP)

- Hamabe (traditional Japanese song)

- Massenet: Meditation of Thaïs

- Sarasate: Introduction and Tarantella 

 

 

 

The Prehistory Interpretation Centre

The Prehistory Interpretation Centre is part of a global and common approach to promoting the heritage, cultural, tourist and landscape resources of the Vézère valley.

It is a place for exhibitions, conferences and documentation, culture and education.

 

Prehistory Interpretation Centre

Music together

Support us

The Festival

+33 553 303 609

24260 Audrix, France

 

 

Ask for the programme!

From 20 to 29 July 2022, between Le Bugue, Les Eyzies and Saint Cyprien, the Festival covers from Bach to Piazzolla!

fr_FR

Eve et Matthieu Ricard avec le duo Devin

 

Poèmes d’Eve Ricard, projection des photos de Matthieu Ricard le 25 septembre 2022

au Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire des Eyzies à 17h.

Eve et Matthieu Ricard

 

Matthieu Ricard

Qui aurait pu penser que la poésie, la musique et la photographie, des arts à part entière puissent si aisément se mêler pour rendre un moment rempli de nouvelles sensations ? Évidemment, l’alchimie d’une sœur et de son frère a beaucoup aidé à rapprocher ces quatre artistes. La poésie des mots se mêlant à celle des notes fondues dans celle des couleurs et des images, pour de profonds moments d’évasion.

Il y a des rencontres totalement inattendues, sur le quai d’une gare ou à un anniversaire, entre des êtres d’horizons différents qui peuvent au final se trouver d’un esprit commun…

 Un moment dans une atmosphère particulière et magique.

Eclats de vie en 60 poèmes, préface de Christian Bobin

Editions Jouvence 2021 12, 90

Ève Ricard vit comme elle écrit, porteuse du désir de ce qui est à venir, à vivre. Aussi nous dit-elle « il n’est jamais trop tard », le meilleur reste à venir. Elle écrit pour nous, pour être à côté de nous. Avec des mots à la fois simples et taillés dans du cristal, elle cherche à toucher l’exactitude de la beauté. À travers ses poèmes, Ève Ricard ouvre les êtres aux reflets diamant de l’instant, là où vont les bienheureux. « Ce que votre texte a de précieux, c’est sa simplicité. C’est le grand naturel de ceux qui n’ont pas fait du poème un métier, ni même un art ou une habitude : un souffle, plutôt, une respiration dans la nuit suspendue. » Christian Bobin

Ève Ricard, orthophoniste de métier, est une écrivaine française. Fille de l’auteur Jean-François Revel et de la peintre Yahne Le Toumelin, sœur cadette de l’écrivain et moine bouddhiste Matthieu Ricard, elle est atteinte de la maladie de Parkinson depuis de nombreuses années et en a tiré l’inspiration de ses ouvrages. Elle est notamment l’autrice de Parkinson blues, La Dame des mots et Une étoile qui danse sur le chaos.

 

 

« La vie spirituelle de Matthieu et son appareil photo ne font qu’un, de là surgissent ces images fugitives et éternelles »

— Henri Cartier-Bresson.

Je commençai à prendre des photos vers l’âge de douze ans. Je photographiais des flaques d’eau et des reflets de lumière. On disait : « Ne comptez pas sur Matthieu pour les photos de famille. » Je n’étais pas un enfant des villes et je me suis toujours senti mieux dans la nature. Je me mis à photographier plus sérieusement vers l’âge de quinze ans, guidé par mon ami André Fatras, l’un des pionniers de la photographie animalière en France.

Après m’être établi dans l’Himalaya, je photographiais mes maîtres spirituels et leur univers. Mon but était de partager la splendeur, la force et la profondeur dont j’étais témoin. J’utilise la photographie comme une source d’espoir, dans l’intention de restaurer la confiance dans la nature humaine et de raviver l’émerveillement devant la part sauvage du monde.

Mon premier livre de photo Journey to Enligthenment, The Life and World of Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche, fut publié aux Etats-Unis (Aperture, 1996) puis en France sous le titre L’Esprit du Tibet. Je publiais également Moines danseurs du Tibet.

En 2000, alors que j’exposais à « Visa pour l’Image » à Perpignan, je rencontrai Hervé de La Martinière. De cette rencontre naquit une amitié solide et une collaboration fructueuse qui vit la publication d’une douzaine d’albums de photographies : Himalaya bouddhiste (avec Olivier et Danielle Föllmi), Tibet, regards de compassion ; Un voyage immobile ; Bhoutan ; 108 Sourires ; Visages de paix, terres de sérénité ; Hymne à la beauté ; Un demi-siècle dans l’Himalaya ; Contemplations et Émerveillement.

La force d’une vision, d’une image, s’impose avec évidence dès qu’elle se présente. Je la scrute attentivement pour déterminer la meilleure façon de lui rendre justice, la technique aidant à retrouver l’impression subjective que j’ai ressentie en contemplant une scène. J’aime autant les couleurs riches que la « couleur sans couleur » : un oiseau blanc passant devant une chute d’eau sous la neige tombante. Danielle Föllmi m’a dit un jour que je « peignais avec la lumière », un beau compliment.

Lorsque je réalisais les images de Un voyage immobile, l’Himalaya vu d’un ermitage, je restais assis au même endroit pendant un an, comme si j’attendais la lumière. Mais je n’attendais rien et je n’avais pas le projet de faire un livre : je séjournais simplement dans mon ermitage pour faire une retraite. De l’aube au crépuscule, je contemplais un paysage sublime : la chaîne himalayenne se déployait majestueusement sous mes yeux. Parfois, une lumière impromptue embrasait quelques instants la scène qui s’offrait à mon regard émerveillé et je prenais quelques images. Les « moments magiques » qui constituent ce recueil, tous saisis de la terrasse de mon ermitage ou à quelques centaines de mètres de là, sont le fruit de cette « attente sans attente », de l’harmonie de la nature se mêlant à la félicité de la méditation.

Il m’arrive de ne prendre aucune photo pendant des mois. Puis vient le jour où les personnages, le lieu et la lumière surgissent de si belle façon que je ne peux résister à en faire une image, une offrande à tous ceux qui poseront leurs yeux sur elle. Cartier-Bresson disait : « Les photos me prennent et non l’inverse. » L’idéal consiste à vivre sur les lieux où l’on photographie, de sorte que le temps joue en votre faveur : qu’une scène exceptionnelle s’offre à votre regard et vous êtes présent.

J’ai maintes fois contemplé et admiré l’œuvre des grands photographes du passé, Ansel Adams, Ernst Haas (son chef-d’œuvre La Création, en particulier que je revisite régulièrement), Galen Rowell et bien d’autres encore. J’ai noué des liens d’amitié avec nombre de photographes que j’admire — Henri-Cartier Bresson que je connus dès mon adolescence et dont je devins proche, Jim Brandenburg, Vincent Munier et Yann Arthus Bertrand, pour ne citer qu’eux. Je continue d’apprendre à leur contact. Il m’arrive de contempler une image particulièrement frappante ou inspirante et de m’imprégner longuement de sa beauté, de sa composition, ou du message qu’elle transmet, une image qui restera dans ma mémoire et enrichira ma façon de voir. Une photographie réussie est une image que l’on ne se lasse pas de contempler et qui procure un sentiment d’élévation.

Au fil des années, c’est le regard qui s’éduque, qui s’affine et qui permet de mieux voir ce qui est là, de faire honneur à ce que le monde et les êtres nous donnent, puis de faire vibrer les couleurs et chanter la lumière pour retrouver le sentiment de saisissement, de rupture des cogitations mentales et de ravissement qui a été le nôtre en contemplant une scène, un visage, l’immensité d’un ciel, l’évanescence d’un reflet, les dédales d’une écorce ou l’intimité d’une fleur.

 

 

Matthieu Ricard, né en France en 1946 et fils du philosophe français Jean-François Revel et de l’artiste peintre Yahne Le Toumelin, est moine bouddhiste, humanitaire, auteur de livres, traducteur et photographe. Après un premier voyage en Inde en 1967 où il rencontre de grands maîtres spirituels tibétains, dont ses principaux Maîtres, Kangyur Rinpoché et Dilgo Khyentsé Rinpoché, il termine son doctorat en génétique cellulaire en 1972, et part s’installer définitivement dans la région de l’Himalaya où il vit maintenant depuis plus de 50 ans.

Moine bouddhiste, Matthieu Ricard partage à travers son art, toutes les formes de beauté, qu’elles soient spirituelles, humaines, altruistes, ou encore qu’elles émanent de la part sauvage du monde.

 

Ayano et Guillaume Devin

Violon : Guillaume Devin

Piano : Ayano Devin

 

LE PROGRAMME du duo Devin

 

– Bach : Largo de la 3ème sonate pour violon seul

– Elgar : Salut d’amour

– Vivaldi : l’hiver (1er mouvement)

– Debussy : Clair de Lune

– Poldini : la poupée dansante (NON DP)

– Ravel : Pavane pour une infante défunte

– Kreisler : Tambourin Chinois (NON DP)

– Hamabe (chanson traditionnelle Japonaise)

– Massenet : Méditation de Thaïs

– Sarasate : Introduction et tarentelle 

 

 

 

Le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire

Le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire s’inscrit dans une démarche globale et commune de valorisation des ressources patrimoniales, culturelles, touristiques et paysagères de la vallée de la Vézère.

C’est à la fois un lieu d’expositions, de conférences et de documentation, de culture et d’éducation.

 

Pôle d'Interprétation de la Préhistoire

Musique ensemble

Soutenez nous

Le Festival

+33 553 303 609

24260 Audrix, France

 

 

Demandez le programme !

Du 20 au 29 juillet 2022, entre le Bugue, Les Eyzies et Saint Cyprien, le Festival qui va de Bach à Piazzolla !

en_GB